JOIN THE EFFORT

UPCOMING WEBINAR

The Target 2035 monthly webinars highlight relevant research topics with a mixture of talks and discussions by prominent scientific leaders and young scientists giving their perspectives and demonstrating the latest enabling technologies.

Recordings of past webinars are available HERE

Targeting membrane transporters

November 16, 2021, 7:00 am PDT

November 16, 2021, 10:00 am EDT

November 16, 2021, 4:00 pm CEST

November 16, 2021, 3:00 pm UTC

Registration Outlook online ICS

Program

Host and moderator: Claire Steppan (Pfizer)

5 min
Claire Steppan (Pfizer)
Welcome and introduction
20 min
Giulio Superti-Furga (CeMM)
Tools, assays, ideas for efficient targeting of SLC transporters
20 min
David Sauer (University of Oxford)
Structures, binders, and small-molecules in the targeting of SLC transporters
20 min
David Hepworth (Pfizer)
Expanding the Druggable Proteome – Solute Carriers as a Case Study

BIO SKETCHES

Headshot of David Sauer

David Sauer (University of Oxford)

David Sauer is a biophysicist focusing on the structure and function of membrane channels and transporters. As group leader at the University of Oxford since 2021, he has been studying the structure and function of membrane proteins for 16 years. David completed his graduate degree studying potassium channel structure and ion selectivity at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. This was followed by postdoctoral training at New York University School of Medicine. There he described the structure, transport mechanism, and chemical inhibition of SLC13/DASS membrane transporters.

Read more