JOIN THE EFFORT

Previous Webinar

Chemical probes for GPCRs - from bias signalling and allostery to novel technologies

April 19, 2021, 10:00 pm PDT

April 20, 2021, 1:00 am EDT

April 20, 2021, 7:00 am CEST

April 20, 2021, 5:00 am UTC

Program

Host and moderator: Jonathan Baell (Monash University)

5 min
Jonathan Baell (Monash University)
Welcome and introduction
20 min
Ka Young Chung (Sungkyunkwan University)
Scaffolding mechanism of arrestin-2 for ERK signaling cascade
20 min
Arun Shukla (Indian Institute of Technology) 
Intrinsic bias at Arrestin-Coupled seven transmembrane receptors
20 min
Asuka Inoue (Tohoku University)
Biased ligands and GRK-subtype selectivity –negative regulations of GRK5/6 by Gq and its consequence for β-arrestin functionality

BIO SKETCHES

Headshot of Jonathan Baell

Jonathan Baell (Monash University)

Jonathan Baell is a research professor in medicinal chemistry at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences (MIPS), the Director of the Australian Translational Medicinal Chemistry Facility and a Chief Investigator at the ARC Centre for Fragment-Based Design. His interests are in the design and quality of HTS libraries, medicinal chemistry hit-to-lead and lead optimization for the treatment of a variety of diseases, such as malaria and neglected diseases as well as computer-aided peptidomimetic design in order to generate compounds with potential therapeutic utility and value.

Read more

Headshot of Ka Young Chung

Ka Young Chung (Sungkyunkwan University)

Ka Young Chung is Associate Professor in the School of Pharmacy at Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul, South Korea and heads at the Molecular and Structural Biology Lab. Her lab uses HDX-MS to study protein structure, protein-small molecule interactions, protein-DNA interactions, protein conformational change, and protein folding. She and her team are specifically interested in understanding conformational dynamics of membrane proteins such as GPCRs, various ion channels, and transporters.

Read more

Headshot of Arun Shukla

Arun Shukla (Indian Institute of Technology)

Dr. Arun Shukla received his Masters (M.Sc.) in Biotechnology from the Center for Biotechnology at Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.  Dr. Shukla is currently Joy Gill Chair Professor, EMBO Young Investigator and Senior Fellow of the Wellcome Trust DBT India Alliance in the Department of Biological Sciences and Bioengineering at IIT Kanpur. Dr.

Read more

Headshot of Asuka Inoue

Asuka Inoue (Tohoku University)

Asuka Inoue is Associate Professor at the Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Tohoku University, Japan. His research interests are to understand the molecular basis of GPCR signal selectivity and to contribute to development of new drugs targeting GPCRs.  

Read more